Education System in UK – Levels of Education in England

levels of education in England
Why study abroad in UK? United Kingdom is providing highly advanced education to the students. They are using high standards of teaching methods and adoption of new technology in education system. From the last five years UK schools are spending nearly £ 1 billion on digital technology. They have adopted interactive whiteboards to tablets in schools for making classrooms more innovative. UK’s education system breaks into “key stages”. The schools which are operated by the local government authorities are free for students and other independent schools are charging some fees and they have excellent reputation for their high teaching standards in UK. Department for Education (DfE) is the central government office that is liable for education in UK.[/column]

The education system in UK is divided into four categories i.e. primary education, secondary education, further education and higher education. Children’s in the UK have to compulsorily attend primary and secondary education until the age of 16 years. There are some similarities between India and UK like how we have central and state controlled schools India same way they have public education and state funded schools in UK.

UK’s education system breaks into “key stages”. Which as follows

  1. Key Stage 1: 5 to 7 years old
  2. Key Stage 2: 7 to 11 years old
  3. Key Stage 3: 11 to 14 years old
  4. Key Stage 4: 14 to 16 years old

higher education uk

Primary education

In UK primary education is first step of compulsory education. It starts from age of 5 & ends with the age of 11. Along with the core subjects they are free to take other subjects like music, art and computer studies too.

free education in England

Secondary Education

After completing primary education students can join secondary education till the age of 16. Here programs are more challenging. Those who completed they will receive a certificate from General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE’s). Once students finish their GCSE’s they have the option to go further education or go into the work.


uk education system explained

Further Education

UK further education courses classified into 2 types; Acadamic and Vocational. Academic courses help you to prepare for higher education, vocational courses will give the skills required for your preferred career. You can study online or offline where they arrange wide variety of full time and part time courses along with many subjects and specialization. To provide world class education to students institutions are following high quality standards. The institutions are more innovative and encouraging entrepreneurial learning. UK further Education institutions have strong contacts with industry, confirming that what you have study is relevant to your career objectives. Education is permitted on the basis that they meet industry needs, along with these there are many courses are designed & delivered in association with industry experts and local employers.

design colleges in uk

Higher Education

In the UK higher education is controlled by the public universities which are categorized by their institutional autonomy. Higher education starts with a three year bachelor’s degree. Postgraduate degree contains master’s degree which are either taught or by research. There are 4 types of postgraduate degrees; Taught masters, Masters of Philosophy (MPhil), Masters by Research and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD).

Related Topics:

Why study abroad in UK
About UK – Want to study in UK
Education System in UK – Levels of Education in England
University list in UK – Top rated universities UK
Visa Process in UK – Visa requirements for UK
Getting Work Permit in UK
Part time Jobs in UK – Part time jobs central London
Study and work in UK for Indian students – Stay Back in UK
Frequently Asked Question – UK